• House in Taralga
  • homepage slider2
  • Sunset in Upper Lachlan
  • Gunning Park

Welcome to Upper Lachlan Shire Council

The Upper Lachlan Local Government Area has a population of 7547 (ABS Census 2012) and includes the areas of Bigga, Binda, Collector, Crookwell, Dalton, Grabben Gullen, Gunning, Laggan, Taralga and Tuena.

The Shire is located in proximity to the major centres of Goulburn (46km), Canberra (138km) and Sydney (238 km).

Key industries are Virbac, farming of sheep, cattle, alpacas, potato growing and wool industry. 

News and events

20 September 2017
Applications are now open for the Community War Memorials Fund (CWMF). The CWMF... Read more
20 September 2017
Upper Lachlan Shire Council wishes to advise the community that Crookwell Library will... Read more
The current Kiamma Creek Bridge will be replaced with a two-lane concrete culvert bridge, increasing the lifespan of the Bridge by at least 100 years.
14 September 2017
Upper Lachlan Shire Council today welcomed an announcement by Member for Hume Angus... Read more